Woodbrook College

          An Edmund Rice School

PEXpo 2020
PEXpo 2020
Well done to all the students that submitted and presented projects at PE Xpo 2020 in Dublin City University on March 3rd. All students equipped themselves excellently when presenting to the judges that assessed their projects. In particular, congratulations to Abhirami Santhoshkumar, Ruby Roche and Michelle Dolores who won the overall junior section (1st – 3rd year) with their project titled; ‘Mixed v single sex PE lessons. Does participation change?’
Fun Run 2019
Fun Run 2019
In spite of the wet weather, the 2019 Fun Run took place on Friday October 25th. For the first time in its existence the venue was changed from Shanganagh Park to the school campus due to the poor wet weather. The students involved in the organisation were excellent when asked to adapt to the contingency of staging the run on the schools grounds at short notice. Well done to all involved on reacting so well to the change of venue. Even though the weather was poor, student enthusiasm and participation was high. This was reflected by the €1250 fundraised from the €5 entry fee to take part. The funds raised were donated to the four different charity partners; Irish Aid, Vision Sports Ireland, Irish Wheelchair Association and Christmas Hamper appeal. Well done to all those bravely participated in spite of the poor weather and their generous donations. For the students that were keen to compete, there three races within the Fun Run; senior boys’, girls’ and junior boys’. Congratulations to Conor Murphy on winning the senior boys’ race, Eve O’Brien on winning the girls’ race and Nathan O’Shea on winning the junior boys’ race. The whole school community look forward to the 2020 edition of the Fun Run and wish for improved weather conditions so it can return to the Shanganagh Park venue.
Endeavour Awards
Endeavour Awards
The Endeavour Awards are awards given out to people who make a positive contribution to their community over the past 12 months. The awards recognize what people have achieved, or an area that they have excelled in. Bray & District Chamber of Commerce has been presenting these awards every year for almost 40 years, since 1981.

Transition Year – Latest News

fronthall army
Before Easter our TY students had a busy number of days. We welcomed Capt. Mc Morrow and Sgt. Spicer from the Defence Forces who gave a talk about their careers.

12 angry men
Term two finished with TY students taking to the stage and performing 12 Angry Men a play written by Reginald Rose. The play set in a jury room sees 12 jurors argue the evidence of a murder trial where a 13 year old kid from a deprived neighbourhood in Chicago is accused of murdering his father. If convicted the kid would receive the death penalty. With some humour and powerful performances by a number of students it was truly enjoyed by all.
The students involved were
Foreman Eibhin Flanagan
Juror 2: Aaron Whelehen
Juror 3: Conor Pamukcu
Juror 4: Patryk Ostapczuk
Juror 5: Joshua Custorio
Juror 6: Ian Lawless
Juror 7: Ben Jones
Juror 8: Ben Kelly
Juror 9: Jack McDonald
Juror 10: Danniel Osoianu
Juror 11: Archie Farrell
Juror 12: John Vivas
Guard: Emil Roy
Judge: Finn Richardson
Understudy: Eduard Grefaldeo
Prompter: Chris Lester Grefaldeo

Backstage was Konrad Bzdyra, Joey Yu, Luke Weir, Jamie Doyle, Ross Roche and Jordan Whyte.
Teachers involved were Ms. J Troy and Mr. M Ryan

Thanks to all involved and also to those who supported the events.

Comments are closed.